>O!!!

Nov. 6th, 2005 05:04 pm
croik: (Not helping)
[personal profile] croik
I had quite an "adventure" this weekend. The short version is I now have a shiny frisbee of a new PSTwo sitting in my TV stand, and will not be going to Gamestop again if I can absolutely help it.

The long version:

So a few weeks ago my PS2 stopped working. I had my GBA roms and old PSX to comfort me so it wasn't a really big deal. But then I realized I get G4 with my cable and they kept talking about new games coming out that I didn't want to wait until PS3 came out to play. So I decided to take action. When I found that the cheapest replacement laser for my model of PS2 would be ~$70, and I could get a used PS2 guaranteed to work for ~$100, I choose the latter. When a PS2's already held together with packing tape and missing half its screws (plus I don't know how to install a laser) it's time to say goodbye.

Goodbye, Hardin!

So I went to Gamestop and bought a used PS2 from a skinny guy trying to sell me Kingdom Hearts 2 (yack). I also picked up a copy of Shadow of the Colossus, because it just looked too awesome. After that my friends and I wandered the mall, got dinner, saw Doom again (FUCK YEAH) and finally went home. Wasn't too late so I set up my new PS2 to try out the new game.

As you may have already guessed, it didn't work :( Every game I tried got me an error.

So I pout, and go to bed, and the next morning [livejournal.com profile] tanithkitty and I go back to the Gamestop. The manager was working (I think he was the manager) and he was polite and apologetic, and I was polite and patient while he set up an exchange. All the while he kept muttering to himself, "How weird, this never happens." Kinda made me want to smack him, because it sounded like he thought *I* had done something wrong. I know how to put a disk in a tray, thank you very much.

So I get a different used PS2 (oddly enough same model # of my last one) and TK and I head out, stop by Borders, eat lunch, and get back to our apartment. Where I try the new PS2.

And of course, it won't read games either. Not an error--won't even spin. Won't register the openening and closing of the tray AT ALL.

Now TK will tell you it's pretty hard to get me honestly mad at anything, but at this point I'm pissed. So I call the store, tell them I'm coming back, and we head back to the mall. The manager looks at me like HE'S pissed off now, and he and his helper try to act like maybe it's the game's fault. TK and I point out that I tried several games on it and nothing registers, and I want my money back (no exchange this time). I joke that Sony hates me, at this point still relativley polite given it's my third trip to the store in 24 hours.

And the manager mutters, "Of course," takes the thing and wanders off behind the counter to test it. Like I'm making it up just to fuck with him or something. He starts babbling about how it's weird that it doesn't work, because, and I quote: "I had some trouble with it when it was brought it, but then I cleaned it and it was fine." Which, bull shit, when I bought it in the first place he took a moment to open it up and blow some canned air through it. If that's the "cleaning" he meant, I know he didn't test it afterwards, because I was right there.

So the helper realizes I'm still standing there, by now looking pissed; he asks for my receit and he gets me my money back. He tries to pass it off as Sony building crap, I'm not amused, he apologizes for the trouble and we leave. The manager didn't say anything after turning on the PS2 so I'm assuming he realized that the piece of shit didn't work after all.

So now I'm totally pissed, and we march the 20 yards across the mall to the EB Games. The kid behind the counter's tiny. I'm in a huff now, so I tell him I want a PS2, a new one (because I'm not messing with no old used shit anymore), one that ACTUALLY PLAYS GAMES. I was reaching for my credit card at the time so I missed it, but TK says I scared him. He runs around trying to find a ladder to get to the ones on the top shelf, apologizing for taking so long and looking like he expects me to stab him in the face or something (do I look scary when I'm mad?).

Finally he pulls down a new PSTwo, the skinny kind, which I didn't really want because it looks pussy, but by then I'm fed up so I take it, and make a point to let the EB guys know (there were two of them there by now) that the Gamestop guys were giving me attitude and "treating me like shit." Which, TK again tells me, earned me a nasty look from a nearby mother who was buying her son a TEEN RATED VIDEO GAME. Even if he had been standing next to her, I'm sure HE'S HEARD THE WORD SHIT BEFORE. Probably in the GAME SHE'S BUYING FOR HIM.

So the EB guys squeak a "have a nice day" and I march out with my new PS2. On the way out another mother buys her tiny son an M rated game.

TK and I drive home, swearing more than usual (because by then it's starting to be as funny as it is obnoxious), and I pop in my new PSTwo and game and play a few levels and IT WORKS. And IT'S A COOL GAME.

And Gamestop can just go fuck itself. With Kingdom Hearts 2.

The End.

Profile

croik: (Default)
croik

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 09:36 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios