croik: (...fuck)
[personal profile] croik
Still no computer. The data the Geeks were able to save is safe, but I had to bring in my backup, since otherwise they were going to burn DVDs (130 gigs worth, lol). But the bad news is my harddrive wasn't the problem after all, it was a capaciter (capacitor?) on the motherboard, which is the sort of thing Geek Squad doesn't fix. All the guy could do was tell me to get a new motherboard, but at that point I might as well get a new computer entirely.

My dad says we might be able to replace the capaciter oursevles, and we're going to try, because otherwise we have to get me a new computer anyway. Goodbye, monies~



HOWEVER.

Reunion and Turnabout.

This is gonna be short 'cause I'm tired and I'm kind of indifferent to this case anyway. Replaying it, it's not as bad as I remember. But playing it after 3-5 makes me totally impervious to anything Maya related. I know, I'm biased, she's not that bad. But I'm tired of Maya and her being in trouble.

It's especially irritating because her sister who loves her doesn't always seem to treat the situation with the gravity it deserves. Going into the first day of court she barely told Phoenix a thing, even though he was up against a perfect-record von Karma and Maya's life was on the line. Nothing says sisterly love like a psyche-lock barring the path to freedom.

She shows up near the end to try and help, but the "I'm hinting you in the right direction so you can solve the casey yourself," is already old by this point, and inappropriate given the circumstances.

I don't mind Ini. A lot of people are irked by her "liek omg" attitude but at least she has more character than Lotta. I felt bad for her by the end.

And Grey is, I think, my favorite victim of the series. In all four games there are only 4 you meet before their deaths, and I like him a lot (more than Mia, even). He was kind of a freak, but I liked the way he talked. ARE YOU LISTENING? I enjoyed him. I wish Lotta had been the victim, and then he could be a witness XD;;

Other than that, there's some confusion in the case that's mentioned but never cleared up: like why Grey brought a gun to the channeling in the first place. I'd like to think it was self defense against a possibly violent spirit, because the other theory (that he was going to force Mimi to write a confession at gunpoint) doesn't make much sense when she's already dead. But, he is kind of crazy. You never know.

This is also the first time we see Phoenix angsting about Edgeworth's "death". It reminded me again of my anger towards 1-5: Phoenix in 2-2 talks about how all prosecutors are corrupt and don't care about the truth, only their pride, but if you take 1-5 into account he already knows this isn't true. "He ran away for his pride" is a much different reason to be bitter towards someone than "He left because he couldn't handle an impossible amount of pressure." And again, since Edgeworth's reason for leaving (according to 1-4) was so personal in relation to Phoenix, it makes it more fitting that Phoenix's reaction to it is so equally personal.

And I loves that <333 (shit is my fangirl showing??)

Also deserves mentioning that in this case Phoenix accepts evidence from a little girl he's just met and presents it in court without being able to verify if it's legitimate or where she got it from. Just saying... >.>

So in short, 2-2 is good for a setup case, but the fact that it's Maya on trial again doesn't do much for me.

I also beat DMC4 this morning! But that deserves a lot of squeeing and I'm too sleepy for it right now. Later :D



I forgot to add! This is where Franziska shows up! Like I said in an earlier entry, I don't really like Franziska that much. Going into the second day of court Maya says something about how amazing Franziska is, and how strong, and how it's hard to believe they're both 18.

Damn right it's hard to believe they're both 18! They both act like they're 12. Sure Franziska is a prosecutor, and she has to have some kind of head on her shoulders to be able to deal with death and murder all the time, and she has a sharp mind. But it doesn't take THAT much wit and maturity when you fix the case to say what you want and whip people unconscious when they disagree. If she was really talented she wouldn't have to use tricks to say "I noticed the bullet hole in Maya's sleeve but instead of even attempting to think of an explanation I pretended I didn't see it and hoped no one would notice." That's not genius perfection, that's complete amateurism.

Franziska's "perfection" doesn't even hold up on the very first day, so it's hard to believe that she's anywhere near the league of her father. Which is maybe the point, but then it gets irritating that she continues to blab on and on about it. "A Karma is perfection" - Uhhhhh you screwed up already. So shut up about it B:

Even knowing that she gets a bit of sensitivity later, I still can't see Franziska as anything more than a spoiled child. And even though a lot of people paint her as very independent, with her career and her own place etc, we don't know that that's true: it could very well be that her mother is still alive and she lives with her. In one of their psuedo-interviews the creators mentioned that the von Karma house kept servents, so who knows what kind of lifestyle Franziska enjoyed in Germany. She must have had a strict upbringing as far as her law training went, but in all other areas she's completely selfish and spoiled.

And I don't like her "foolish" routine, either. It can't get much more childish.

So no, I don't like Franziska >.>

Profile

croik: (Default)
croik

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 12:54 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios