croik: (Prinny)
[personal profile] croik
Thought I'd post an in-progress shot of my wall mural! Here it is with the white finished (and a little blue color test). My room is short so it's hard to photograph but I think it's coming along very well.



In other news I rented Bayonetta and finished it. It was fun, but I can't say I'm a huge fan of it. The action was fast paced and the bosses HUUUUUUGE but the characters themselves bored me to sleep. Now I'm playing Darksiders, which feels very slow and clunky by comparison, but I really like War's VA so I'm hoping he'll, like, talk more.

Any other games about demons vs angels I need to check out while I'm at it!?

I also heard a little tidbit about Assassin's Creed III which I am compelled to talk about here.

According to the newsletter delivered to my email, at the moment talk is that Ezio is going to be back as the protagonist for ACIII. I'm not sure how I feel about it, since I (and I think a lot of people?) assumed that each third of the trilogy would be headed by a different character. If repeat heroes were an option I would have preferred Altair (though I guess he does have a couple side games of his own now).

Don't get me wrong, I liked Ezio, but I wasn't totally crazy about him. Playing as him I didn't feel like I could be as free as I was with Altair--since the game yells at you for killing civilians, and you're often running around killing guards and stealing from people in the city he grew up in. Plus with the way ACII skips ahead years at a time, it almost felt more like one random mission tacked after another than the first game did. With Altair it felt like he started as an asshole, and you got to watch him gradually start taking people more seriously, start listening better. He's very different at the end of the game than he was at the beginning and I thought they did a good job developing him.

But with Ezio, I never got the feeling that he really did that much growing. He started as a player and, up until the final two chapters, was pretty much the same. They said the point of picking Ezio was so that Desmond could learn an assassin's skills but the only thing he really learned that he couldn't from Altair was how to get laid (which has yet to come in handy with Lucy btw! He should challenge her ex-boyfriend to a horse race and then bed her on the roadside. That's how Ezio rolls).

I was hoping that with Ezio starting as a teen we would really see him go through a lot of growth, maybe wrestle a little with the idea of going back to his hometown a killer, maybe not be so quick to tell his targets "rest in peace." I wanted to see a little more fire from him. It wasn't until the end when he starts bitching "It's been 10 years and I've gotten nowhere!" that I started liking him, oddly enough.

Anyway, I hope if Ezio returns for III he'll be older, wiser, and a more mature brand of playa. I would like to see what happens to him because the end of II left it at, "Yeahhhh he's probably going to lose his poor mind." But I'm worried about III feeling like more of the same, especially if they can't find a way to end it which doesn't include walking down a corrider of enemies into a boring sword-fight boss.

Honestly I was hoping that for ACIII we'd get a new lead again, possibly even a woman! Wouldn't that be something! A girl can dream.

Profile

croik: (Default)
croik

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:27 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios