croik: (Squeee)
Oh man, Top Chef all-stars! I've watched every season (season 1 only in reruns, unfortunately) and I'm really excited to see everyone back. So much lulz to be had already. Especially Elia and Fabio lecturing about chefs behaving with maturity followed by "DUN CRITTERSIZE MEEEE!!" aha aha aha!

Seriously guys, I said it then and I'll say it now: maturity is not slamming another chef's dish to the diners when he's in the other room. It's not accusing him of cheating without proof. It's not threatening to beat him when he moves something you left out. And it's not shaving heads!! Chrissake.

It's not hiding in the back room because you're afraid of critique either, OOOH SNAP, CRY MOAR.

So hell yeah, Team Marcel. I don't care if he's obnoxious, he's got Woverine hair. Alas, I am torn, because I'm also rooting for Richard, Carla, Dale (season 3), and Tiffani (season 1).

God I hope the season winners all come back to taunt them. How awesome would that be??
croik: (KRISNIX <3)
And so, months after its release, I have finally finished Ghost Trick (not because it took me this long, I only got my copy a few weeks ago >.>).

I was really looking forward to it because I was interested in what Takumi had to bring to something new, but in the end...I have to admit I was disappointed. The graphics and style of the game were really great, along with some of the character designs (I really like Sissel's and Beauty's especially) and the music is very AA-ish and fun, but I'm not a fan of the gameplay. It felt like I spent too much time clicking things randomly just to learn what they did, only to die and do it all over. The characters all look great but only half of them even have names and the rest are more gimmick than personality. There were only two or three characters in the whole game I cared about and one of them was the cap-cop who did almost nothing.

I was also a little frustrated with how many constraints the gameplay put on the world building. The rules of being a "ghost" are not properly defined and keep changing up until the very end of the game, just to fit what is most convenient at the time. I can't even begin to think of how I would handle it in a fic (my principle concern? MAYBE). And speaking of fic, shipping potential for the game is almost NIL--slash, het, femme, whatever. I can only think of one or two possible slash ships (if you're willing to overlook canon love interests), mayyyyybe het, mayyyyybe some femme... I would ship Beauty/Her Partner but Beauty might not even be her name and what would I call HIM? BEAST??? Ironic but not practical!

And the two most interesting characters, who share a very strong bond, you can't exactly ship because... SPOILERS!! I guess someone out there is willing to ship it, but that is not how I roll. .....Unless I invent some new Ghost Tricks, which wouldn't be anti-canon, since Ghost Tricks have been known to change at random.

To top it all off, the ending is...errrrgghhh. I really don't want to spoil it because there is a pretty neat twist, but once you sit and think for a moment about what it means and what's about to happen... ugh, I felt like I had been cheated.

So, all in all, I'd give Ghost Trick... a 6.5. HARSH, I KNOW. But really cute graphics don't make up for a poor story, bland characters, and tedious gameplay. I hope the localization is stellar because otherwise I don't see it doing well in the States.

I'm sorry, Takumi ;o;
croik: (Inuart <3)
Hey Santa! Thanks in advance for writing for me :D

As you could probably tell from my prompts, I'm a fan of slash and porn! (lol) But het or femslash in the case of the Muramasa prompt is also totally keen (gen and solo, too). I don't have many any details to add for my prompts because I'm really not picky, I'd love to see anything for these poor little fandoms, but in general:

-I prefer drama or comedy to fluff. No fluff, please.
-No non-con (dub-con is okay), no super kinky stuff (bondage, blood, watersports etc)

If you're not into writing NC-17 rated stuff don't sweat it! Also please don't fret over being matched for my 3rd or 4th choice, I love them all equally.

Sorry I'm not more specific, I think it's more fun that way. But if you absolutely need more to go on, please feel free to leave an anon comment.

Thanks again~
croik: (Arthur's tripping)
Fandom: Inception
Title: The Helix Trap
Chapter: 4/19 (7,533 words) (For other parts please check my My main post)
Rating: R
Pairings/Characters: Eames/Robert, Arthur/Ariadne, Cobb, Yusuf, Saito, Browning, and others.
Warnings: Violence, sexual content.
Disclaimer: These characters and setting do not belong to me and are being used without permission but for no profit
Summary: After the Inception proves successful, Eames tracks down Robert out of concern for its unusual side effects. Meanwhile, Arthur is hired to a dangerous job that forces the rest of the team to take sides: whether to defend Robert and his fragile mind, or ruin him completely.
Notes: C&C Welcome and appreciated. Thanks to my beta [livejournal.com profile] chypie for catching a very serious typo >.>;; Long chapter is long, I know. Sorry!

In which Robert has some tricks up his sleeve )

To chapter 5
croik: (Arthur's tripping)
Fandom: Inception
Title: The Helix Trap
Chapter: 3/19 (4,517 words) (For other parts please check my My main post)
Rating: R
Pairings/Characters: Eames/Robert, Arthur/Ariadne, Cobb, Yusuf, Saito, Browning, and others.
Warnings: Violence, sexual content.
Disclaimer: These characters and setting do not belong to me and are being used without permission but for no profit
Summary: After the Inception proves successful, Eames tracks down Robert out of concern for its unusual side effects. Meanwhile, Arthur is hired to a dangerous job that forces the rest of the team to take sides: whether to defend Robert and his fragile mind, or ruin him completely.
Notes: C&C Welcome and appreciated. To my betas, [livejournal.com profile] a_rocky_ravine and [livejournal.com profile] chypie, thanks for your input!

In which Arthur can't help that he's a stud )
croik: (Default)
Fandom: Inception
Title: The Helix Trap
Chapter: 2/19 (4,282 words) (For other parts please check my My main post)
Rating: R
Pairings/Characters: Eames/Robert, Arthur/Ariadne, Cobb, Yusuf, Saito, Browning, and others.
Warnings: Violence, sexual content.
Disclaimer: These characters and setting do not belong to me and are being used without permission but for no profit
Summary: After the Inception proves successful, Eames tracks down Robert out of concern for its unusual side effects. Meanwhile, Arthur is hired to a dangerous job that forces the rest of the team to take sides: whether to defend Robert and his fragile mind, or ruin him completely.
Notes: C&C Welcome and appreciated. To my betas, [livejournal.com profile] a_rocky_ravine and [livejournal.com profile] chypie, thanks for your input!

In which Eames looks good in green )
croik: (purty sakura)
So the other night TK and I were playing Sengoku Basara 3, and I was a character I'm not too crazy about. We spent the whole time telling him to shut up because seriously, dude, cut it out, you are so boring and ugh.

And then we got to the end. And he shut up. And he sat down and started crying. And for some strange reason, I started crying. I turned to TK to tell her to shut up (preemptively), but she was crying. And we looked at each other like... What the hell just happened!?

Hate you Capcom. So much.
croik: (Arthur's tripping)
What do rich guys wear to bed? Do you suppose Robert has $500 boxers? This is going to be very important come chapter 4.

Fandom: Inception
Title: The Helix Trap
Chapter: 1/19 (6,068 words) (For other parts please check my My main post)
Rating: R
Pairings/Characters: Eames/Robert, Arthur/Ariadne, Cobb, Yusuf, Saito, Browning, and others.
Warnings: Violence, sexual content.
Disclaimer: These characters and setting do not belong to me and are being used without permission but for no profit
Summary: After the Inception proves successful, Eames tracks down Robert out of concern for its unusual side effects. Meanwhile, Arthur is hired to a dangerous job that forces the rest of the team to take sides: whether to defend Robert and his fragile mind, or ruin him completely.
Notes: C&C Welcome and appreciated. To my betas, [livejournal.com profile] a_rocky_ravine and [livejournal.com profile] chypie, thanks for your input!

In which Ariadne forgets a promise she makes to herself )
croik: (Arthur's tripping)
I has new icon for fic posting~

Fandom: Inception
Title: The Helix Trap
Chapter: Prologue (3,928 words) (For other parts please check my My main post)
Rating: R
Pairings/Characters: Eames/Robert, Arthur/Ariadne, Cobb, Yusuf, Saito, Browning, and others.
Warnings: Violence, sexual content.
Disclaimer: These characters and setting do not belong to me and are being used without permission but for no profit
Summary: After the Inception proves successful, Eames tracks down Robert out of concern for its unusual side effects. Meanwhile, Arthur is hired to a dangerous job that forces the rest of the team to take sides: whether to defend Robert and his fragile mind, or ruin him completely.
Notes: C&C Welcome and appreciated. To my betas, [livejournal.com profile] a_rocky_ravine and [livejournal.com profile] chypie, thanks for your input!

In which Arthur and Eames break the rules )


To Chapter 1
croik: (Arthur's tripping)
This is the master post for The Helix Trap. If you prefer, you can also find it at ff.net and A03, or download the PDF.

Fandom: Inception
Title: The Helix Trap
Chapters: 19, roughly 127,500 words.
Rating: R
Pairings/Characters: Eames/Robert, Arthur/Ariadne, Cobb, Yusuf, Saito, Browning, and others.
Warnings: Violence, sexual content.
Disclaimer: These characters and setting do not belong to me and are being used without permission but for no profit
Summary: After the Inception proves successful, Eames tracks down Robert out of concern for its unusual side effects. Meanwhile, Arthur is hired to a dangerous job that forces the rest of the team to take sides: whether to defend Robert and his fragile mind, or ruin him completely.
Notes: C&C Welcome and appreciated. Thanks to my betas [livejournal.com profile] chypie and [livejournal.com profile] tanithkitty for their input!

Prologue

Rest under the cut )

And some art/graphics! )
croik: (Prinny)
Anyone on my FList in Inception fandom? Who's willing to help me out as a beta? For something other than Eames/Arthur? *eyebrow wiggle*

Speaking of fic, anyone know what's up with Yuletide this year? I keep peeking at the admin comm but I haven't seen any announcements. It's almost October! Is it not going to happen this year?? Inception would already be out since the fandom has been bonkers but there were a few things I wanted to put on my list... Like Kyle/Dylan... Not that I don't have enough fics to write already. Bahh need more time to write.

In other news, Lone Star series premiere was a bust, missed Chuck (but plan to watch it eventually), and Fringe has jumped the shark into a pit of poo. But at least fall is here! I love fall <3
croik: (FRANCAKE)
TGS ain't over yet but already there are a few more surprises than I was expecting this year...! But let's start with the most important.

MY NAME IS DANTE? SERIOUSLY!?

Oh really, asshole )
croik: (FRANCAKE)
Since I only posted one pic before and you couldn't see him all that well, I took some more.

He's a little camera shy )
croik: (hyoo hyoo hyoo)
I don't know if any of you are as enamored of Adrien Brody as I am, but I am happy to report that his abs are in fine shape. Not the shape of a half naked Spartan warrior maybe, but he had more guns on display than his AA-12 fully automatic 12 gauge shotgun if you know what I'm saying. Rarrr, dude.

My $5.50 was well spent tonight.
croik: (Squeee)
So I finally got my act together and ordered a copy of Last Window! (aka Hotel Dusk 2). It came today and I've just started playing. There's a good chance this game won't be coming out in North America (*SOB*) so a lot of people won't be able to play it. I plan on updating CR's WHAT A!? with new character bios and such, but I'd like to do a little extra. With enough time and motivation I guess I could just translate the whole thing, but I thought it might be more fun to make it like a novelization. These games could use one of these anyway...! A script would be better for walkthroughs but most people won't have a copy of the game with them when reading through it. Then again, just summarizing would be faster and easier.

Hmmmm. Suggestions?

EDIT: Aaaaaaand penis doodle in notebook, check.

EDIT AGAIN: NEVER MIND I guess it's coming out in Europe after all!?

Also, fuck Steve for getting me my first Game Over. Fucking Steve, man.
croik: (Squeee)
After years of wishing we had one, TK and I finally adopted a dog!



He's a Shiba Inu (mix?) rescue dog, about 1 year old, and we've named him Wesker! Shut up, it's the best dog name ever.

We just brought him home today. Not sure how he ended up in a shelter, but he's pretty well behaved, can sit, shake, and lie down. Seems to have been housebroken too, but we're keeping an eye out for accidents. He has a lot of energy, seems to love everyone he meets, and thankfully doesn't bark at every dog he sees. But we do have a jumping habit to curb...!

Any tips and tricks from you dog owners are very appreciated!
croik: (Default)
So I finally got around to watching the Marvel vs Capcom 3 teaser which features RE5's rugged Chris Redfield sliding around on his tummy. This game is now relevant to my interests.

Anyone else? Got predictions/a wish list for the character roster? Well sure I do, thanks for asking!

1. Dante. Dante Dante Dante Dante Dante. And while we're at it where the hell is DMC5?

2. Apollo Justice. Why him and not Phoenix? Because Apollo needs more love. He can do anything Phoenix can PLUS he has crazy red pulsing Perceive eyes. You could even have him toss around some Psyche Locks as long as one of his victory quotes was "Thanks for the magatama, Phoenix!" A Klavier is fine too.

3. Amaterasu/Chibiterasu. Yami made it into TvC, but what about the heroine?

4. Battle Suit Jill or Wesker. Wesker makes sense because after RE5 he's out of the series, so give him one last hurrah. Jill makes sense because it's hot. All three might be RE-overkill.

5. Protoman. Fuck Megaman, Proto is where it's at!

6. Sanada Yukimura/Date Masamune from Sengoku Basara. They were already in a fighting game, it wouldn't be THAT hard to shuffle them in. Plus they have a new game coming out. Also, they hot.

That's all I got right now. What about you guys?

And on a completely different note, behold the progress of my Azalea!!

Read more... )
croik: (FRANCAKE)
It's been a while, so...time for a Croik Update! In list form!

The Good

-I've been making Frisbees Flying Sports Discs for 90 days now, so today I got to fill out papers for health insurance! And I get dental and vision, too! SCORE

-I got my brother a job at the plant too, so for the next few weeks he's living with me and TK to save up money. I now have access to his Wii and the single Wii game that interests me. I also made a Lt. Carter Blake Mii when he wasn't looking.

-I got Super Street Fighter IV!

-[livejournal.com profile] gyakusai_rp is fighting strong and the disbarment is only two days away! It's pretty ridiculous how much fun the anticipation is.

The Bad

-My worst work-related fear was realized the other day, but it didn't happen to me: a co-worker of mine accidentally tripped his machine while his hand was still under the stamping iron. He was lucky not to break any fingers, but they took him to the hospital with second degree burns! I wasn't there to see it or anything but it's really freaky. Poor guy :(

-I am terribly behind updating CR >.>;; And writing, and the quilt I'm working on, and cosplay (though I did get the fabric!). Blah too many projects. Need more time.

-I suck at Super Street Fighter IV!

-Kinda want to advertise [livejournal.com profile] courtroomlobby, kinda scared of it becoming DR-ish. You people reading my LJ, check it out! (psst it's an open RP comm for AA)

-Ong Bak 2 was an extreme disappointment.

The Wave

I actually finished this a while ago but it took time to get my room together and clean enough to take a proper picture.

Which is just behind the cut! )
croik: (KRISNIX <3)
I finally got let go from Gamestop. Technically I haven't had hours since December, but it wasn't until last week that my boss finally took me out of the system. At least I got to milk the discounts up through God of War!

So I continue to work at the frisbee flying disc plant. I've grazed the flat irons a few times, but it wasn't until last Friday that I actually burned myself. Not seriously or anything, but I wonder if it'll leave a scar!? I guess it's my initiation into the business, along with my official company hoodie.

AND SPEAKING OF SEARING PAIN

I'm also still translating the worst yaoi porn not in a kink meme )

In other news, I finished Heavy Rain (a few times) and God of War III (just once). But I'll post about that another time.
croik: (I'll Odeko YOU!!!)
So if you're the kind of person who watches horror or sci-fi movies, you may have noticed the new movie coming out, Repo Men. But what you might not know is that this movie is based on a book which, while it was being written, used to be called, Repossession Mambo.

This isn't extraordinary in itself, and normally I would be looking forward to seeing a movie about repo-men whose job it is to repossess not cars or houses, but people's organs in a distopian future. Except that I already have! Repo Men is a total rip off of a stage-musical turned movie, Repo! The Genetic Opera.

Most people aren't familiar with Repo! which is too bad, because it is fantastic. It's been around as a stage musical for about 10 years, and has a Rocky Horror type cult following. Yes, it's an opera in the literal sense - a rock opera. The Trailer gives a pretty good impression of the campy style. And apparently some guy must have thought to himself, "This is great, but I'd bet it would do better if it wasn't an opera, since some people just can't get into that." So he wrote a book and got a movie deal.

And no, this isn't just a case of two stories with a similar premise. If the "opera" vs "mambo" part wasn't a tip off already, the plots are eerily similar, down to the Repo Man's family set up. I can't say more without spoiling both but they have a lot in common. The author of the book even had to add a forward before it got published explaining how he came up with the idea for the story--i.e. how he totes didn't steal it.

But of course, you can't copyright a premise, or even a series of story events, so Repo! can't do anything about it.

So whether or not you decide to see Repo Men, do yourself a favor and check out Repo! The Genetic Opera. It's campy and bloody but the music is great and the story underneath has a hell of a lot of heart (the emotional kind, not just the beating kind). And if you like it, tell your friends, because it deserves to be better known.

Or come over and watch my DVD ;D

Profile

croik: (Default)
croik

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 05:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios