croik: (I'll Odeko YOU!!!)
This post is only for the super geeks among the Ace Attorney fans that watch my journal. My new job is so monotonous that it allows me a lot of time to ponder and get inspiration for projects I probably will never complete. For the past two weeks this crap has been running around my brain and I know it won't go anywhere until I write it out, so here I go. Feel free to scroll past the impending tl;dr

A whole lot of rambling about what Croik would do if she were writing GS5 and 6 )

Comments welcomed~
croik: (Prinny)
The other day I was driving, and for a moment I got really nervous and looked to my purse, thinking, "Wait, did I remember my keys!?"

And then I realized, I was driving. The keys were in the ignition.

It was not the first time I had such an exchange in my head.

I am smart.
croik: (Yuusaku!!)
Okay "crash" isn't the right word, because I didn't technically "hit" anything (or anyone, thank God). But I did try to stop at a red light and instead ended up careening madly off the road, over the curb and onto the front lawn of a prison!! A PRISON...!!!!!!

At first I thought a patch of ice was the culprit, but it turned out that my right front tire burst. How, I don't know! But I am okay, and the car is okay (except for the tire, oops), and therefore everything is okay. TK and a very nice man from the Bank of America helped me change the tire and everyone got home safe.

Yikes!

Good thing I'm getting my first paycheck Friday. New tire for the baby!

JOB GET!!!

Jan. 27th, 2010 08:48 pm
croik: (FRANCAKE)
So a friend of my mom's let me know that the company she works at had an opening, and today I had the "interview," which consisted of a 10 minute tour and then the manager telling me, "Btw did I tell you you're hired?" Apparently they really need the help!

I HAS JOB

And thus, starting tomorrow, I'll be spending 40 hours a week stamping fun designs on sport discs! (don't call them frisbees! D:). Quite a change from translating porn in pajamas, but if I manage not to get fired for 90 days, I could end up with health care. And that is nice. Vereh nais.

But work starts at 8 so that means I won't be staying up late anymore. How am I going to finish Persona!?
croik: (Prinny)
Thought I'd post an in-progress shot of my wall mural! Here it is with the white finished (and a little blue color test). My room is short so it's hard to photograph but I think it's coming along very well.



In other news I rented Bayonetta and finished it. It was fun, but I can't say I'm a huge fan of it. The action was fast paced and the bosses HUUUUUUGE but the characters themselves bored me to sleep. Now I'm playing Darksiders, which feels very slow and clunky by comparison, but I really like War's VA so I'm hoping he'll, like, talk more.

Any other games about demons vs angels I need to check out while I'm at it!?

I also heard a little tidbit about Assassin's Creed III which I am compelled to talk about here.

Under a cut, because there are ACII spoilers )
croik: (I'll Odeko YOU!!!)
It's a little late to say Happy New Year but HAPPY NEW YEAR AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS BEFORE THAT!!

2009 was a pretty decent year over all! I want to say a big "<3 you" to all my buddies here on LJ. I really wish I could have sent holiday gifts this year but financially it just wasn't possible for me I'm afraid ;o; (I've gone from possibly 3 jobs back down to just translating, boo). But you guys are all awesome and I appreciate you so much.

"We don't need you to work here anymore" aside, I had a lovely holiday with my family. Had Xmas dinner with my dad's siblings and families, hosted my brother for a few days, and then my parents spent New Years with us and helped us do some work on the house. TK and our dad built a bench for our kitchen table (so cute!) and we painted the upstairs hall and downstairs bathroom. That is our family's idea of vacation, seriously.

And I got some sweet holiday swag )

Have a happy 2010 :D
croik: (hyoo hyoo hyoo)
The best part about working for Gamestop is without a doubt the game access >:3

I've been able to play a bunch of games lately that I wouldn't be able to otherwise over the last few weeks. And now I wanna talk about them!

Saw the game - yes I did play it pffft )

BlazBlue )

Muramasa: The Demon Blade )

Uncharted )

And that's it! But just in case it sounds like I've done nothing but game for the last four weeks, let me tell you my friend got me a temp job this week where I literally did nothing but photocopy documents for 9 HOURS STRAIGHT on Tuesday. That's with one bathroom break and one for snacks. I don't know how the copy machine didn't explode, but she and I are friends now (I named her "Alice"). My friend--the human one--is now trying to convince her boss that I should be hired as a part time assistant on a more permanent basis, which would be cool so long as there's no more photocopying. Wish me luck~

(btw I didn't *have* to stay for 9 hours straight, that was a result of my own stubbornness, so the lady's not a slavedriver or anything).

Long story short, that's why I haven't updated any of my fics lately lol
croik: (Squeee)


I HAVE A CAR!!!!

Because the publishing scene has been so sucky lately, I had to get myself a "real" job. But in order to hold down a job I needed a way to get to it, so my parents found me this adorable silver PT Cruiser off Cragislist! Isn't it cute!? My folks are so awesome I love them so much <3333

Some of you may remember that I didn't get my driver's liscence until two years ago, so this is my first time having a car of my own. It's weird to go from working at home for 5 years and then suddenly driving myself to a job every other day. Of course for most people reading this, that is nothing special. BUT IT'S NEW FOR ME OKAY!?

And speaking of the job, I'm working part time at Gamestop. I've heard from others who've done it and didn't like it, but I've had a great experience so far. All the guys I work with are really cool and have been helping me out a lot. Even when I almost broke the printer >.> That printer is my nemesis, I swear.

In other news, I've been working on a new writing project while I continue to push the one I finished last April. It's a dark, Sleepy Hollow-ish old American horror story (but with less Johnny Depp - sad, I know). I'm hoping to keep it much shorter than my last story so it's more appealing to a publisher. Wish me luck~

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!
croik: (hyoo hyoo hyoo)
It's that time of the year again :D

Just got my Yuletide assignment! Now I gotta bone up for it. But in the meantime I figured I should leave a note for my santa!

Other than what I wrote in the prompts, in general I am not a fan of fluff. I prefer drama (even ANGST) but romance and humor are fine too, especially if they're on the darker side. I left my prompts pretty open and I really don't mind if you stretch them, but if you need something more specific to go on, I'm a yaoi fan (het and yuri too, though I don't think I requested anything that would lend to yuri...) and don't mind if I just get pwp :3. Nothing excessively kinky though, please (especially no non-con).

Also I ship Nobunaga/Ranmaru if that helps. And for Basara I'm looking for something more anime than game based, but if you have only the game to draw on that's cool. I think the Hotel Dusk prompt is self-explanatory and for Saw I have seen VI (twice <3) so if you can incorporate anything from the new plot stuff that'd be fa~bulous. And that's all I can think of!

Thank you so much Santa <3
croik: (Default)
Oh hey look, someone left a livejournal here!

Guess I better post this fic I wrote.

Title: Be My Lady
Pairing: Kristoph/Kazura
Rating: PG (for now)
Summary: Four mini fics featuring four highlights of the relationship between Kristoph and Kazura over an 18 year period. Has big spoilers for Gyakuten Kenji / AAI. I tried to experiment a little with my narrator voice, hope it doesn't suck, lol!

C&C Welcome )
croik: (Sleepy Hobo)
This weekend I sat down and played Silent Hill 2 from start to finish all at once, beating it for the first time ever. I've actually owned it for years, but always got stuck at the apartment building (yup, that early on). So this time TK was my walkthrough buddy. Which may have killed the experience a little (that and not playing it alone, at night, with all the lights out and headphones on - as the walkthrough would have suggested), as in the end I didn't find it as scary as I was hoping to. But it wasn't bad.

More thoughts about a game everyone else played years ago, whoops )

I also played the Dissidia demo, and I have to say I wasn't terribly impressed with that either. It seemed like I spent most of every fight just trying to close the distance between me and my enemy. The number of different attacks you can do seem really limited as well. Has anyone played the Japanese version? Is it really worth it? Because after all this time the only characters in the game I can bring myself to give a shit about are Zidane, Terra, Kefka, and Gabranth, so if fanservice is all the game has to offer I'll probably skip it.
croik: (Sleepy Hobo)
Okay so I still need to make an actual post about North and such but for now, I wrote this review of Gyakuten Kenji up for CR and I thought I might as well post it here too. These are just my personal impressions of the game.

No spoilers )
croik: (Default)
When we first moved in we took a peek around the yard, but couldn't be sure of just what flowers the previous owners had planted. Now that it's spring things are starting to really come alive!

And I have pics! )

We've done a ton of other work on the yard but it won't be much to look at until things start blooming. Quilting, gardening... all I need to do is start drinking coffee and I'll become my mother!
croik: (hyoo hyoo hyoo)
So I'm watching Sengoku Basara now and I realized I NEED ICONS and forgetting that I no longer have a paid account I made several more than I can actually use so here they are plz take some~ More under the cut



Seriously, why aren't you watching this anime!? )

Seriously Capcom, from now on skip the shitty rip off game and go straight to anime, plz.
croik: (Squeee)
HEY GUESS WHAT GUYS!! I SAW DRAGONBALL!!

THE MOVIE!!!!

I think it's pretty safe to say that just about everyone expected it to be a horrible movie, and everyone was not wrong. It was pretty much the strangest thing I've seen in a long while (and that says a lot considering I rented Baghead). But rather than walking out of the theatre hating it, TK and I were more bewildered than anything. It just might be the least offensive bad movie ever.

It was actually a lot like watching the old live action Super Mario bros. The movie tells you "this is Goku" and "this is Bulma" and you believe them because he can use chi and she has some blue in her hair, but beyond that there's very little resemblance. Movie!Goku is nooooothing like DBZ's Goku (not to mention his horrible acting on top of a painful script) but I can't be mad about it because the whole creation makes no sense anyway, so what would be the point of outrage?

It all adds up to the movie being entertaining in a train wreck way and I highly recommend seeing it if you can con someone into buying your ticket for you or are horrifically bored.
croik: (Default)
I FINISHED!!!

At 4pm today I finished my first complete original story since...uh, sixth grade!? From dinosaur people to psuedo-samurai, I have come a long way!

Final word count: appx 192,000 over 41 chapters. Holy shit it is time to edit. And, um, come up with a title >.>

But first, more cheescake <3

ACCOMPLISHED )
croik: (FRANCAKE)
So for almost every major holiday we get together with my dad's side of the family (he's one of five siblings), and we rotate from house to house. Now that TK and I have a place, our hat is in the ring and we volunteered to host Easter dinner. Two of the families couldn't make it so it was a smaller group than usual, but that didn't stop us from going all out!!

With these very colorful desserts! )

Tomorrow's my birthday (omg spinster) and I'm gonna spend it finishing my book! Wish me luck!
croik: (Sleepy Hobo)
This'll be my last post about RE5 for a while, seriously. But I finally started playing online and Mercenaries so now I can talk about them!

I've played with a couple different people now with various skill levels, none of which have been all that bad really, and a few that were a lot better than me. Sometimes it's weird not having more control over your partner like you do Sheva AI, and I feel guilty sometimes about slowing people down when I stop to look for treasures and emblems, but it's also been a lot of fun. I wish more people used mics. I've only gotten to talk to one of my partners and he didn't have much to say (though it helped a little with fighting the boss).

And then there's mercenaries, which is a total blast. Thanks to one helpful dude I was able to unlock all the stages and characters save one in one night (I got her this morning). When you're in the middle of the game fighting unending hordes of zombies it's stressful but when you're fighting against the clock with plenty of ammo and nowhere to run anyway it's a whole lot of fun!

The best part was when aforementioned Dude and I did a few levels together as Chris and Wesker. My inner dork took over and I was totally into it: he was clearly better than me, and I kept thinking, "C'mon Chris, you gotta prove yourself to Wesker!" And of course all of Wesker's battle taunts are obnoxious, so every time I saved him he just laughed, which only made me more determined to wreak havoc. It must have been pretty good motivation because we got an S rank that round.

Kind of a silly thing to enjoy as much as I did, but hey, it's going down as one of my happy gaming memories. Makes me want to write fic where Chris and Wesker are forced to fight together but 2 seconds of thought later it's obvious how impossible it would be to make it work.

Still don't know when the extra DLC is being released, but I probably won't get it. Mercenaries is enough for me. What they really ought to do is start releasing extra mercenary characters, like, say...Leon? C'mooooon Capcom, you know you wanna!
croik: (I'll Odeko YOU!!!)
So I beat RE5 and here are my stats!

Clear time on normal: 11:53
Rescued Sheva: 21 times
Rescued by Sheva: 38 times
Saved Sheva from death: 14 times
Was saved from death: 18 times
Killed by enemies: 15 times (5 from Reapers, 3 from chainsaws)
Killed by other: Maybe 6 or 7? The game doesn't seem to keep track of those, but I died at least once from a laser, a quicktime event, and several trips into firey bathtime.
Weapon with most kills: Handgun, 130 (30 headshots)
Most accurate weapon: PSG-1, 90% (7 headshots)

All in all I enjoyed it. It had that usual Capcom action game feeling where you wish the plot was a liiiiittle bit more original, but it did the job, and by the end I really liked Chris and Sheva: Chris just sounds so cute when he's worried, and Sheva is just cute all around. Her AI was sketchy in only a few really noticable parts (i.e. refusing to use cover or NOT walk directly into a laser) but overall I enjoyed having her as a partner. Now that I've finished one time through I do plan to go back and try some online co-op, in case there are any PS3 peeps here that want to swap PSN :D

But of course we can't really talk about RE5 without mentioning at least a little bit about racism!!!

SPOILARZ )

In short, good game, could have been longer, and I wish we could make a law against Capcom using giant insects and fleshy tentacles for monsters, but that's not gonna happen. I liked that 5 was so close to 4 but I'll be glad if 6 goes in a new direction.

In the meantime, I would like Chris/Shiva/Jill doujinshi plz.
croik: (Yuusaku!!)
So I'm somewhere around 6 to 7 hours in Resident Evil 5 (ps3~) and I've already died 6 times, from the following:

3 chainsaws to the neck
1 quick time event gone wrong
1 Sheva got blown up where I couldn't reach her
1 Walked into a laser, oops

Which is a tad better than I did at RE4. I'm playing on normal and so far I'm consistently getting A's in my chapter scores, except when it comes to time. I am slow. But in general I'm enjoying it, even considering I'm using AI Sheva and haven't attempted online co-op yet.

Some more thoughts with spoilers up to 4-2 )

EDIT: My neighbor is getting a tree cut down right now and the sound of the chainsaw is making me nervous B:

Profile

croik: (Default)
croik

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:45 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios