croik: (Squeee)
V.Day is one of those holidays you can't actually acknowledge in public, because there's a 50% chance you're going to make someone scowl. Like the guy at the bank.

I'm sorry you hate your wife, Mr. Bearded Man :(

Anyway, I really wanted to get these mini-fics done for today, but terrible sinus pressure + a sudden 5 books due by May = I didn't. I only got to two, plus Silverwind's delayed birthday fic. I'm sorry ;_; I'll be in Florida for a few days but when I get back I'll finish the rest.

(Except...I'm sorry Rene, but I can't think of a single thing for Vegeta/Bulma. I haven't watched anything DBZ except for BALLS for years :(. Is there something else you want?)

Anyway, here are the ones I did get done. I hope you like them! (Oh, and disclaimer disclaimer, blah blah not my characters etc).

Ephraim / L'Arachel, for aeolianrain )

Bradley + Kyle, for taikounoemi )

Can't Blame The Booze, for Silverwind )

lol i eet u

Feb. 9th, 2007 09:58 pm
croik: (Gaara Eats Babies)
So I went to see Hannibal Rising tonight. I'd just watched Silence of the Lambs a few nights ago, and I have to say, I found the idea of a young, smoking-hot Lecter very appealing. Love that dimple, baby. What's not to love about a cannibal, anyway?

My non-spoiler reaction to the movie is that it was okay, but there were a lot of things conspiring against it to make it...not okay. I was satisfied leaving the theatre but not thrilled. Despite the commercial hype it didn't strike me as terribly gorey (am I desensitized?). Not as bad as some of the horror that's come out lately, for sure. Half-visible cannibalism isn't quite as bad as blind cave men chewing out throats, or rusty barbed wire rape, I'm sorry to say.

For a man that's supposed to be pure evil, I was expecting a little more creativity, and less sympathy, really. Still better than Hannibal, though. Oh, and Gaspard is totally hot. I'd cannibalize him, if you know what I mean. >3

And now for spoilers )

Yeys

Feb. 7th, 2007 12:08 am
croik: (Squeee)
Happy Birthday, [livejournal.com profile] silverwind9!!!!

I don't have porn for you yet, though. Sorry! :(
croik: (lol)
Valentines Day is coming up, and because I have too many ideas for fics to actually work on any of them (whoops) I thought I'd do some V-day drabbles. Or just porn, you know, whichever.

So if you want a Valentines Day drabble, or just have a suggestion, reply here with fandom and pairing :D. If you ask for a fandom I don't know I'll let you know by responding with haiku porno. Nothing says, "Sorry, can't do that," like 17 syllables of naughty.

I've been doing more gaming lately but I think I'll wait until after Yiazmat to update on that. But I will say Hotel Dusk is well worth getting, and a great game. More thoughts on that when I'm not doing battle with my sinuses.
croik: (Gaara Eats Babies)
Anyone reading this watch Top Chef?

Spoilers for tonight's ep )

P.S. two monsters left until 100% bestiary, mofos~!

lol, rpgs

Jan. 21st, 2007 07:45 pm
croik: (Pwnd)
From last spring until November I didn't really play anything but action games and Phoenix Wright, and now I've got three RPG games going. Crazy O_o.

In FFXIII I've just passed the 160 hour mark, making it...probably the longest running single file I've had for an RPG (or any game). All that's left for the final Clan Ranking is filling out half a dozen common monsters (I got all 80 rare - anyone know where the damn Wild Snakes are??), Omega (FUCKER), and Yiazmat. My guys are all at level 75 but I'm gonna wait until at least 80 before going back into that goddamn Crystal. Stupid Omega ;_;

In FFIII I'm getting ready to go to the Crystal Tower at the end. I've got a Dragoon, Devout, Ninja, Summoner team (I haven't decided yet if I'm gonna bust the Summoner to Sage, the Summoner class is kinda boring and limited). Honestly, I haven't really enjoyed the game all that much. It's...pretty tedious, really. The best part of it is the artwork in the player guide. I might sell it back when I'm done.

I'm also several hours into Shadow Hearts, the first one, on loan from a friend. But...ugh, it's not much better than FFIII. The Judgement Ring keeps me from falling asleep while playing but that's about it. It's not god awful, but I can't think of anything positive to say. If it doesn't pick up by the time the cravat dude shows up, I'll probably give it back.

On a final note...I've got the pre-order site on watch, but if I don't nab a spot in line for the Limited Edition GS4 Super Box Set, every one of those "I'm getting it just for the sake of having it" fannies had better lay low come April 12th. Theft via internet just might be possible by then...!!! >O
croik: (FRANCAKE)
An unexpected personal accomplishment started my year, in the form of Newtype Magazine's Jan. 2007 issue, page 129. At the end of an article on Phoenix Wright, Ace Attorney: Justice For All, there is a small box that reads:

"Still haven't had enough "Objection!" and "Take that!" action after this game? Then have a look at www.court-records.net, a suprb Phoenix Wright fansite that includes walkthroughs, story timelines, character stats, and all manner of fan generated content [fan fiction, fan art, fan videos, etc.] What is Phoenix's height, anyway? And how does Franziska get away with using her whip in a court of law?"

Court Records is the fansite I've been running off my personal page, which will officially be one year old come the 27th of this month. In that short time I've gone through hundreds of updates and somehow attracted over 800 members to the forum. And now, I've been emailed by Capcom's official forums, and even got a shout out in a printed magazine! Not bad, huh? :D

Meanwhile, still chugging along on FFXII. My characters are at level 63 and I have over 120 hours logged so far. Just beat the Hell Wyrm last night after an epic 2 and a half hour battle! All I have left is a dozen or so rare monsters for my beastiary, finishing exploring the map, The Seer, and the most intimidating challenge since 1 million roses: Yiazmat, of the 50 MILLION HP. More than six times the amount Hell Wyrm had. That'll have to be an all day event. Ugh, gotta level up first.

I've been trying to get through FFIII as well, but I have to say, it's...really boring. I knew it would be a cheesy little game with no story and poor mechanics when I bought it, but even the job class system is letting me down. But that's a subject for a different post.

Fucking lol

Jan. 2nd, 2007 10:17 pm
croik: (It's hip to be square!!)
So just the other day I was complaining to TK about movie critics (every review for The Descent complained about it either being too feminist or not enough, which, regardless if you like the movie or not, is a ridiculous reason to put down a HORROR FILM). And then Jekka sent her this FUCKING BEAUTIFUL review of Snakes on a Plane. Which, I'll add, I just finished watching a few hours ago, for the third time. Here's a snip of brilliance:

For this reason, I feel SNAKES is more emotionally and culturally important than the recent WTC or UNITED 93. It's using a horror movie to help us cope with the imcomprehensible horror of 9/11. And it also triumphantly reminds us of the fact that there hasn't been any successful plane-related terrorism since 9/11. Not even pissed-off poisonous snakes in a confined environment can bring down the U.S.A.

U-S-A!! U-S-A!! U-S-A!!!!!!

And the rest, originally from Netflicks, which I can't link 'cause I don't have an account there )

I can't confirm if it's in jest or serious, but either way my amusement is unending.
croik: (Smirk)
AKA, brief X-mas entry.

I spent the holiday with my folks, as per usual, where we hosted Christmas Dinner for the relatives on my dad's side of the family. It was a great time with some great food, and my aunt made for me (and my brother and sister) a ridiculously warm winter blanket with kanji all over it. My parents got me some CDs, some froggy pajamas (I have a growing collection!), and some cooking stuff (yummy), my brother got me Ouendan (CAN'T STOP CHEERING), and my sister got me a little Daruma doll, which I've secretly wanted for a long time now. I'll have to think of something good to color his eye for (to tie into my New Years Resolutions, whatever...those turn out to be XD).

And then I got Final Fantasy III for myself, JUST BECAUSE THE RED MAGES ARE CUTE. The rest of my Xmas money is getting stored away for a PSP the moment FFT:SS is given an American release date.

In other news, Yuletide went down pretty smoothly this year. Better than usual, even...? Whoever got me must have scratched, because apparently I got not only one pitch-hit story, but...four!! I'm not exactly sure how that happened, but I'm not complaining. I got two PW stories with itty bitty Miles, one that was NokoMitsu, and a fabulous Delita/Ramza FFT fic. (Not that the others weren't fabulous, I'm just way into FFT at the moment, as you can tell by my new layout). I wouldn't normally consider myself a Delita/Ramza shipper, but it was very well done and I loves it. In case you're reading, mystery authors (*nudge wink*) thank you all so much.

I'm not sure the story I wrote got the best reception, but...oh well. It was the only way I could think to include all the characters that were requested. But I can't say anything more until authors are revealed on New Years.

Speaking of New Years...I have no idea what I'll be doing. O_o Probably baking a pie of some sort with my new cook book. It's my goal to recreate the Applebees Apple Chimmy-Cheesecake.

Happy Holidays everyone :D

LJ Layout

Dec. 20th, 2006 10:50 pm
croik: (Okami)
So, anyone know a place / person from which I can get a layout for my journal? I'm in a phase and I want an Ivalice-themed journal. Maybe using this pic from Vagrant Story or this slightly spoilerish pic from FFXII (post Phon Coast). They're not the best quality, might need resizing...

Help? Suggestions? :D?

EDIT: Changed my mine. Now it's gotta be This pic from the new FFT port.

It breaks my heart a little ;_;
croik: (Default)
Fucking House. I'm so sick of this show, why do I keep watching!?

Why is it that when House betrays Wilson's trust by lying, stealing, and getting HIS PRACTICE SHUT DOWN (because of shit he's pulling that's ILLEGAL) no one bats and eye because "that's just how House is" and Wilson is a tool...but when Wilson does THE RIGHT THING by NOT LYING to the police, suddenly he's a backstabbing sell-out? Shut up and go suck House's dick, Cameron, your "morality" isn't anything more than wanting to be liked more than wanting to be a responsible person.

It's getting pathetic, just how far everyone in the show will go to keep House around. It's a good thing they do, because otherwise he'd be fired and there'd be no show. But I find it hard to believe that House is suuuuuuuuuch a good doctor that not only can he get away with anything, but he can convince the people lying for him that they're doing "the right thing" by protecting him.

Ugh, it's so goddamn lame, I can't watch this anymore >O

Which means that I probably will, but only because I'm holding out a hope that House will admit wrongdoing...at some pont. Ever.
croik: (Inuart <3)
I beat FFXII last night :D (84 hours, and I'm still planning to go back for the rest of the hunts).

Final thoughts? I loved it. There were a few things that kept it from being TOTALLY MIND-BLOWING GAMING EXPERIENCE, OMG!!!! But overall it was better than I expected (given my luck with Square games lately) and I thoroughly enjoyed every bit it. Balthier was my clear favorite early on, but I also really liked Larsa and Gabranth (aka Wiegraf 2.0) and by the end just about everyone had grown on me. I can't think of a single character I disliked (unlike the last couple FF's - Zell, Quina, Eiko, Lulu etc etc).

One shot from the credits even choked me up. Can you guess which!? (Need artbook ASAP).

So in short, the game looks fantastic, the music was great, the voice acting was some of the best I've heard in a video game, the liscence board was addictive, the gambit system was great once I got the hang of it, and the story kept me going up through the end. The various FFTactics and Vagrant Story references made it even better.

Is it the best FF I've ever played? HARD TO SAY. Now that I can't bear to look at FFVII and my interest in FFIX fizzled soon after I beat it, I think it definately earns a place as best "numbered" FF game. But Tactics has been my favorite game ever for a long time, and even now that I've had it for nearly 10 years it's still the game I replay most often. I started a new file of it just this past summer getting ready for the return of Ivalice. If I pick it up for another 80 hour run sometime several months from now, then I'll know.

But of course, I still have some issues with it XD

One complaint and a few irks - spoilers )

And now I'm playing Vagrant Story again! With my old save it's my 7th time time through, and it took my just over 3 hours to get to the halfway point of the game. I'll beat it tomorrow. Oh Ashley, how I missed you and your assless pants!

I've wanted to do an Ivalice crossover fic for the longest time - maybe it'll happen this time, if I think of anything (not until One of Every Color is finished and up, I promise!). But I think if I put Delita, Guildenstern, and Balthier in the same place I'd explode from successive cranial orgasms.

But damn, I'd die happy.
croik: (Inuart <3)
When FFXII was first announced, I couldn't be more excited for it. Not only was it a new FF game AWAY from the emo hair fest that is Nomura, but it was being made by the team that crafted two of my favorite games of all time (FFT and Vagrant Story). Even when they announced the new battle system I was skeptical but still curious.

And then it got delayed a dozen times or so, and I forgot about it, and stopped caring for a while.

And then it actually came out, and suddenly all I kept hearing was either how AWESOME or how BLASPHEMOUS it was. So I got it :D

Cut, but no spoilers )

Anyone else on my F-list have it? :D
croik: (Pwnd)
Every once in a while I get a new review for one of my music videos. But when I checked today, I found the BEST REVIEW EVER, for my Far Too Wrong (Trigun) clip. It reads:

"The only reason you're getting a 2 instead of a one is because the lip-syncing was very well-done. I thought the content was very tasteless."

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

In case you're curious and don't know what I'm talking about, the video is on youtube (spoilers for Trigun episode 24). Because that's what Youtube is for--posting stuff you didn't make.

Not that I mind, since it says Croik in the opening anyway (it's up there under a dozen different names, along with some of my other videos). I should probably just post all my videos up myself. It'd be easier than amv.org probably... SOMETHING TO CONSIDER.

Meanwhile, I'm playing FE9 before I get FF12. Nasir is a butthead :(
croik: (lol)
For my Yuletide Santa, if you happen to come here :D

I tried not to give details that were *too* specific, because I don't want to be restricting ^^;;. But here's some extra info about me:

I'm a slash fan, but I like het just as much (yuri somewhat less). Romance is good but I prefer drama or meloncholy to fluff (especially in the case of Wander/Mono). A little angst goes a long way ^_~.

And if all else fails, flashbacks to little kids doing kid things are always adorable :D

I know I didn't say anything for FFTactics, but if that happens to be what I'm getting (4th choice or not I adoorrrrrrrrrrrrre Tactics so no worries there) my favorite character is Delita and anything involving him is a good thing ^_____^.

Thanks, Santa!!


Meanwhile, I'm happy to be able to give my recepient their first choice, but...man, another "why'd I sign up for THAT!?" moment, ha ha. Should be an interesting challenge. Though I can safely say [livejournal.com profile] silverwind9 got the worse deal. Welcome to your first year at Yuletide, Kiddo!!! Ha ha ha ha ha~~~~~ XD XD XD

Not that we shared our requests or anything. That would be against the rules >.>

*ahem*

Happy Writing XD
croik: (Kyozawa OTP)
So who's doing Yuletide this year?

For anyone not familiar with it, I'm talking about the Obscure Fandom Secret Santa Project. Every year around holiday times Yuletide starts up. Everyone who wants to join submits requests for fics they'd like to have written for them. Then they submit a list of the fandoms they are will to write fics for. Internet magic matches them up, and the outcome is a Secret Santa fic!

The catch is (as the title indicates) that all the fandoms allowed to participate have to be "obscure". The criteria is something like "has less than 500 fics on ff.net" or something. It's a fun way to get fics for fandoms you don't see often. I've been in it for two years, and both times I was really pleased with what I wrote and received (ironically, both years I got a fic from the same person XD).

Apparently they're starting the fandom list over this year--everyone is going to get to suggest 6 fandoms, with characters, to go onto the Big Fandom List (rather than comb over the list from last year). I'm planning on nominating Phoenix Wright, Okami, and Shadow of the Colossus for sure. What I'll end up asking for among those...no idea :O

It's too bad Ouran already has 50,000 crappy drabbles up, that would have been fun to request this year.

Anyway, if you like to fic, come join :D

EDIT: The nomination page is up here
croik: (Pwnd)
So have you seen the latest DMC4 news? Not only is Dante filling out and putting on scruff but he's gone some snappy little hero in tight pants joining in. Hotness >3

The recent screenshots of Dante look a lot different than he did in the original DMC4 trailer that's been out for a while. He seems more heavily built and definately not the young upstart from DMC3 (thank goodness for that). I rather like older!Dante, as long as he opens his mouth a little, unlike his DMC2 incarnation. Though it is a rather interesting choice, considering how poorly DMC3 did, partially due to non-existant plot and Dante's personality shift. Can they bring back the aged Dante and keep his attitude intact?

Or is that what Nero is for?

Or is Nero just there for the buttsex fangirls??

There's supposedly a trailer going up after the TGS show this weekend, and I know I'll be keeping an eye out for it.

SEE, WII PEOPLE!? THIS IS WHY I'M GETTING PS3: HOT MEN IN LEATHER WITH GUNS. AGED TO PERFECTION. YOUR GROWTH SPURT CAME TOO LITTLE TOO LATE, LINK. OH AND FUCK SQUARE JUST BECAUSE.

*ahem*

(Between Snake and Dante, maybe hardened veteran ass-kickers is "what's in" for 2007...Mmmm, can't wait).

Whoopsie~~~

Sep. 1st, 2006 11:12 am
croik: (Yuusaku!!)
Okay, so whenever there's a case of fanfic plagiarism (or other plagiarism) one of the first things the culprit usually says is "maybe I read the line, and INTERNALIZED it, and later repeated it without realzing!" My reaction to this is usually "NO WAI" but here's an embarrassing story:

Embarrassing writing story )

In other news, for some reason I joined a Drakengard forum full of retards.

No really, I know that's not PC, but some of them are as mentally challenged as Nowe himself )

Fantrans~

Aug. 14th, 2006 11:13 am
croik: (lol)
Apparently there's some wanking going on in [livejournal.com profile] ouranhostclub. Of course, I'm in [livejournal.com profile] ouran_host which doesn't get wank at all :(

I was going to post in it, but then I realized I'm not a member and it'd probably be pointless. So I'll post my thoughts here.

The basis of the wank is that FRoP puts out shitty quality speed-subs. The OP points this out with notations, and says s/he thinks it's "unacceptable." People call her out as being an entitlement whore and things go from there.

Cut for my ramblings )
croik: (lol)
I'm heading out tomorrow for the yearly family camping trip :D. Unlike last year we'll be old-schooling it in a tent instead of the camper we almost rented. TK and I are preparing by bringing earplugs. Send the good weather our way!

I'll be back Friday night so seeya all around!

Profile

croik: (Default)
croik

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 08:26 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios